Flying Blind

If you’re wondering why the stanzas are so weird, it’s because I originally wrote this piece as a song, not a poem….

There are paths we walk when we are lost
There are ways we change our world with words
Our sight with labels put on lines
Our eyes with tears we cry at night

Am I two spirits flying blind
Am I lost too deep inside
Myself and all the other things
I keep there – buried away

Am I alone as I would think
After all these years without
A friend who turns my eyes
To icy white – my skin to crimson

There are paths we walk when we are blind
There are ways we change our world with thoughts
Our sight with letters that we find
Our minds with doubts that creep inside

There are paths we walk when we are blind
There are words that leave the world behind
Two letters that when well-defined
Can change the love inside my mind

We are two spirits of a kind
Sometimes unseeing – sometimes blind
To what the present moment has
In store for you and me

I’m not as alone as I would think
Even though I’m sorry for
The years I disappeared from life
But now I’m here to tell you that
You turn my eyes to brighter things

You turn my eyes to white
My skin to crimson

M.
Nov 20/16
image: mandala, black pen and ink pencils on paper

Leave an opinion...

