INTJs and other harbingers of doom

An INTP’s view of the INTJ:

img_6854

INTJs are exactly like you…. Except completely different.

Excluding other INTPs (or perhaps including them… INTPs can be remarkably distracting at times), INTJs are the best conversation partners, as they share your dislike of small talk and your love of rational thought. However, don’t always expect to see eye to eye. Wheras you crave absolute truth, the INTJ sees everything through the lens of circumstance. I’m convinced the INTJ’s favorite line is “it depends….”

The typical INTJ will hide within the confines of a voluminous cloak for the majority of their life span. However, some INTJs may choose to use a constantly neutral facial expression, an air of impeding doom, a sanctimonious belief in their own intelligence, or a shroud of mystery to act as the cocoon that separates them from the rest of the world.

An INTJ who has (even temporarily) discarded their safety barrier will be caught between extreme vulnerability and massive potential. If you are ever uncertain about which direction the INTJ is leaning towards, or about whether or not they entered this state of fragility willingly, the suggested response is backing away slowly. You may also want to raise your hands to show you mean no harm.

Above all, do not attempt to engage an INTJ in this state in conversation. Such an attempt will almost certainly result in casualties.

Stay tuned for an INTP’s view of the INFP, coming soon to a Saturday near you….

Did I get it right? Did I peg you wrong? Let me know in the comments below!

M.
Oct 28/16

6 thoughts on “INTJs and other harbingers of doom”

      1. I think the INTPs often say that too, just that if they’re in a talking mood, they would elaborate with examples and wild theories that go off tangent and travel light years across the universe before eventually circling back to the topic in question.

        An INTJ would elaborate concisely and to the point, depending on whether the other party is deemed worthy and intelligent enough to understand.

        ENTPs, on the other hand, would just start vomiting words and talking your (my) ear off that I sometimes tune them out after a while. Great conversations though, once I weed through the verbosity.

        Like

      2. That’s really true actually… I do envy INTJs their ability to be concise and like… make sense. Although I myself see the logic in my theories and ideas, others often can’t/don’t make the same imaginative leaps.

        In terms of the “it depends” comment, I’m sure us INTPs do that a lot too, but I think we have a tendency to think more in terms of absolutes than INTJs do.

        And yes to ENTPs. So. Many. Words.

        Like

      3. I’m not so sure about that comparison between INTPs and INTJs (hah). I think both do sometimes engage in absolute thinking, but both also do think in relative terms a lot. Whether one engages more in the other is where it gets blurry. Perhaps you could expound on why you perceive it that way.

        Here’s the way I see it, and do correct me if I’m wrong:

        INTPs and relativity:
        – P’s prefer having options open.
        – Ne sees endless possibilities.

        INTPs and absolutes:
        – Ti creates its own internal framework, modifying and fitting things into personalised definitions/constructs/etc.
        – As Ti is their dominant function and is a judging function, INTPs function as dominant judgers.

        INTJs and absolutes:
        – J’s prefer settling on a decision.
        – Te controls and organises the world and systems.
        – Tendency to engage in black-and-white thinking when at a young age.

        INTJs and relativity:
        – Ni sees connections and patterns.
        – As Ni is their dominant function and is a perceiving function, INTJs function as dominant perceivers.

        Like

      4. I perceive INTPs as being more absolute and INTJs as being more relative from personal experience… which I guess is pretty relative in and of itself…. I have a good INTJ friend who always answers my questions in terms of the situation, whereas I (usually) tend to think more in terms of absolute truths that I see as being indisputable and logically sound.

        I’m not super familiar with all the individual functions, but I see the whole Ne “endless possibilities” thing more in terms of idea generation and options rather than in terms of my opinion on specific matters. I’m always open to changing my mind and seeing things in a new way, but at the same time, the reason I am like that is because I’m constantly looking for what’s right or what’s logical, and even if I don’t find that truth, it still exists as an absolute….

        From my experience with INTJs I would say they see the connections between everything and therefore might not tend to seek an absolute truth in the same way an INTP would.

        Does that halfway make sense…? xD

        Liked by 1 person

Leave an opinion...

