The Canvas

This one’s slightly older, but I felt it was a good stand-in for this week. In my experience, this is how artists function.

Whenever I want to bleed
I can make
The canvas bleed instead

It seems cruel
Sometimes
To run it red

But then again
It cannot feel
The way skin feels

Or hurt the way
My head
And my nerves do

Whenever I want to bleed
I can make
The canvas bleed instead

It absorbs the stings
Of a thousand
Aching brushstrokes

And it cries with
Watered-down acrylic tears
On porous intimacy

And it heals itself
With layered blood
When ripped to pieces

M.
Feb 12/16
“The Waterserpent,” acrylic on paper

Leave an opinion...

